About Our Host
The following is adapted from the Readfield Historical Society website.
Readfield was first settled in the mid-18th century when the area was still a part of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Originally part of the Town of Winthrop, the North Parish split off in 1791, renaming itself Readfield in honor of John Read, a land agent for the Commonwealth.
There are four sections to Readfield: East Readfield, Readfield Depot, Readfield Corner, and Kents Hill. Each was a thriving village in its own right in the 1800's, with churches, school, businesses, and post offices.
Readfield had an active and vibrant industrial life in the 1800's and early 1900's. There were woolen, sash and blind, and boot factories; a grist mill; and a slaughterhouse. Little remains of this area that was known as Factory Square.
Readfield is home to Kents Hill School, a preparatory high school that attracts students from all over the world. Lakes and ponds of the town include Maranacook Lake, Torsey Pond,